Craven Hall

Welcome to Historic Craven Hall

Craven Hall is a stately Federal/Greek Revival home built in stages between 1790 and 1845 and serves as the headquarters of the Craven Hall Historical Society, Inc. The house is located on a ¾ acre plot at the southeast corner of Street and Newtown Roads in Warminster, PA. Craven Hall was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.

An adjacent 1920’s era carriage house/garage on the property houses the John Fitch Steamboat Museum dedicated to the inventor of the world’s first commercial steamboat in 1790.

The Craven Hall Historical Society, Inc. owns and operates Craven Hall, The John Fitch Steamboat Museum and the nearby Craven/Vansant Burying Ground. The Society is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation dedicated to providing education programs and conducting events to highlight late 18th and early 19th century life in this history-rich area of Bucks County, PA.

In association with The John Fitch Steamboat Museum


 John Fitch, a native of Windsor, Conn. born in 1743, was a mechanical genius whose patience and perseverance overcame incredible obstacles in conceiving, building and operating the world’s first commercial steamboat.  It traveled nearly three thousand miles on the Delaware River between Philadelphia and Trenton in 1790, but failed to attract the financial backing he needed to succeed.  His was a technological breakthrough that was ahead of its time.

  To discover more about his fascinating life and achievements, click here.


News & Events


12:00 - 3:00 pm
Second Sunday of each month

House and Museum Tours Will Resume on Sunday, September 13, 2020
Masks Required for Entry Per State Law

About Our Partnerships with Libertas Consulting and Low Voltage Nation

 With the help of your generous gifts, 
the Restoration of the
Craven-Vansant Burying Ground
has been completed and the wall capped.
Please visit - behind Fox Run apartments.
And we thank you.

Register Now for the Annual Crooked Billet 5K on Saturday, October 17th!

April 2020 Craven Hall Newsletter
is now available.
Click here
to read. 

Click here for details.

Restored QuiltAbove:  1840’s Album Quilt Restoration Complete
For story and list of names, click here.


Above: The new Early Schools Exhibit is now open.
For more info, visit our Events page.